Frequently Asked Questions
Jury Duty Questions
Below are answers to many common questions regarding your service as a juror. Please contact a jury services representative if you have additional questions.
Jury Service FAQs
A United States citizen of at least 18 years who is a resident of the County of Humboldt may serve as a juror.
You may be excluded from jury duty if:
- You are on active felony parole or probation
- You are a registered sex offender
- You have served on a jury in the past 12 months
Visit jury.humboldt.courts.ca.gov or contact Jury Services at 707-269-1270 and select option 2 if you have concerns about your eligibility.
Sources for selection include:
- Voter Registration
- California Driver’s License or ID cards issued through the Department of Motor Vehicles
- California Franchise Tax Board
Your name will stay on the jury roles until you have personally appeared. Once you have served, your name will not be put back on the list for at least 12 months. If you are medically unable to serve you may be removed from the list by providing a letter from your doctor. If you are at least 70 years old you may ask for an excusal annually without a letter from your doctor. If you have questions about exceptions please contact Jury Services at 707-269-1270 and select option 2.
Read your summons for instructions.
If you need a deferment visit jury.humboldt.courts.ca.gov or contact Jury Services at 707-269-1270 and select option 2.
If you need to update your summons information visit jury.humboldt.courts.ca.gov or contact Jury Services at 707-269-1270 and select option 2.
To check your status as a juror visit jury.humboldt.courts.ca.gov or contact Jury Services at 707-269-1270.
Please bring your summons with you, to avoid being ticketed detach the “Parking Permit” from your summons and place it in on your dashboard.
Failure to respond may result in a fine up to $1500, incarceration, or both. If you need a deferment visit jury.humboldt.courts.ca.gov or contact Jury Services at 707-269-1270 and select option 2.
You may ask to reschedule your service once per year, usually not to exceed 90 days from the date of your summons.
If you need a deferment visit jury.humboldt.courts.ca.gov or contact Jury Services at 707-269-1270 and select option 2. If you are unable to reach a representative leave a detailed message including your name (and spelling) your juror ID number, a phone number and the reason for your call.
You are not paid for your first day of service. The second and all days after you are paid $15.00 per day as set by the State Legislature. You may also receive mileage compensation at the rate of .34 cents per mile, one-way from home.
No. Meals are not provided during a trial or during deliberations.
Employer Participation is vital to the jury system and the Humboldt Superior Court extends our deepest appreciation to the public and private employers who help make jury trials possible.
Labor Code Section 230 presently states:
- No employer shall discharge or in any manner discriminate against an employee for taking time off to serve as required by law on an inquest jury or trial jury, if such employee, prior to taking such time off, gives reasonable notice to the employer that he is required to serve.
- No employer shall discharge or in any manner discriminate against an employee for taking time off to appear in court as a witness as required by law, if such employee, prior to taking such time off, gives reasonable notice to the employer that he is required to appear in court.
- Any employee who is discharged, threatened with discharge, demoted, suspended, or in any other manner discriminated against in the terms and conditions of such employment by his employer because such employee has taken time off to serve on an inquest or trial jury or to appear in court as a witness shall be entitled to reinstatement and reimbursement for lost wages and work benefits caused by such acts of the employer. Any employer who willfully refused to rehire, promote, or otherwise restore an employee or former employee who has been determined to be eligible for such rehiring or promotion by a grievance procedure, arbitration, or hearing authorized by law, is guilty of a misdemeanor.
Your employer may pay the difference between your jury allowance and your salary.
Ties are not required, be comfortable but avoid extremes, if you have any doubts or questions about proper attire please contact a jury services representative at at 707-269-1270 and select option 2.
Be alert and courteous in the courtroom. You may bring a book or newspaper to read while you’re waiting for court to begin, or during recesses, but please don’t read while court is in session. Be sure to turn off all cell phones or other devices while in the courtroom. Eating and chewing gum is not permitted.
Plan to attend from 8:00 am to 4:30 pm. There are short breaks in the mornings and afternoon, and a one hour lunch break. Trials vary in lengths, the trial judge will tell you the expected trial duration, and may excuse potential jurors if the length of service is a hardship.
The nature of the court process and jury service often include periods of waiting. The Court offers Wi-Fi throughout the building, you may also want to bring reading materials to entertain yourself during waiting times.
Contact Jury Services as soon as possible at 707-269-1270 and select option 2. The trial cannot move forward until everyone is present. The judge may fine you for being late.
You should not speak to anyone about the case until you are fully discharged from the jury. Communication with lawyers, and the judge should only occur through the bailiff. If you gain evidence outside the record it could result in a mistrial. Immediately tell the bailiff if someone attempts to speak to you about the trial or influence you as a juror. You may only discuss the case with other jurors during deliberations at the end of the trial.
No. Investigating the case on your own, talking to witnesses or doing research can cause a mistrial.
Please write to the Jury Commissioner
825 5th St Rm G03
Eureka CA 95501