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    SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA, COUNTY OF HUMBOLDT 
    

         GUIDE TO CASE MANAGEMENT 
                
 
 
 
 

NOTE:  The information in this document is not legal advice.  It is intended to provide general 
information, primarily for the self-represented litigant (SRL) on what to expect at a Family Law 
Case Management Conference. 
 
California family courts manage cases through the “family centered case resolution” process.  This 
court’s process is the Family Law Case Management Program.  This case management procedure is 
aimed at early settlement, quicker trial dates, reduced expense of litigation, and better assistance to 
families.  Cases will be managed through two or more Case Management Conferences (CMC) at 
which the parties, attorneys and a judicial officer will discuss a “case resolution plan”.  The family 
centered case resolution plan may be set forth on Form FL-174 (Family Centered Case Resolution 
Order), which is available on the California Court’s Website at www.courts.ca.gov.  The Notice of 
Case Management Conferences (Local Form-CM-8.2), which sets two mandatory Case 
Management Conferences (the first at 180 days and the second at 360 days from the date the 
petition is filed), must be served with the summons and petition.  Other Case Management 
Conferences may be set by the court as needed or if requested by a party.  A party may request 
additional Case Management Conferences by filing a Request for Order (Form FL-300) with the 
Court Clerk’s Office at 421 I Street in Eureka California.  Additional information can be found in 
Family Code sections 2550 and 2541, California Rule of Court 5.83, the Humboldt County Superior 
Court’s Local Rules and website at www.humboldt.courts.ca.gov and on the California Court’s 
Website at www.courts.ca.gov.  

 
FAMILY LAW CASE MANAGEMENT CONFERENCE 

 
What is it?  A Family Law Case Management Conference (CMC) is a meeting of the parties and 
the attorneys with a judicial officer to develop a case resolution plan for managing the case and 
resolving issues as quickly, fairly and efficiently as possible.  It is not an evidentiary hearing or a 
settlement conference. 
 
Attendance and Orders.  Each party’s attorney or the self-represented litigant must attend the 
CMC in person, unless the court orders otherwise.  Both attorneys and self-represented litigants 
must be familiar with the case and be prepared to discuss the party’s position on all issues as well as 
potential agreements or stipulations regarding compliance with required legal procedures.  The case 
resolution plan will become a written case resolution order signed by the judicial officer.  This order 
will provide an easily accessible written record of the decisions made at the CMC, facilitate future 
case management planning, and minimize disputes over previous decisions. 
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  CASE MANAGEMENT PROGRAM TIMELINES 
 
Cases should proceed in an effective and timely manner.  Litigants should comply with the 
following timelines in processing their case: 
 

(a) A proof of service of summons and petition should be filed within 60 days of case initiation; 

(b) If no response has been filed, and the parties have not agreed on an extension of time to 

respond, a request to enter default should be submitted within 60 days after the date the 

response was due; 

(c) The petitioner's preliminary declaration of disclosure should be served within 60 days of the 

filing of the petition; 

(d) When a default has been entered, a judgment should be submitted within 60 days of the 

entry of default; 

(e) If a response has been filed and this is a contested matter, an at-issue memorandum should 

be filed as soon as pre-trial procedures have been completed, including discovery; 

(f) When the parties have notified the court that they are actively negotiating or mediating their 

case, a written agreement for judgment should be submitted within six months of the date 

the petition was filed, or a request for trial date is submitted. 

FAMILY LAW FACILITATOR SERVICES 
 

Self-represented litigants are encouraged to meet with Family Law Facilitator staff or attend a 
workshop before their first CMC to help prepare their case.  For more information about Family 
Law Facilitator services, visit www.humboldt.courts.ca.gov. 
 

 
CHANGE OF ADDRESS 

 
Litigants must keep the court informed of their current mailing address and telephone number.  If 
you move, you must file a Notice of Change of Address (Form MC-040) with the Court Clerk’s 
Office immediately.  This form is available at the Court Clerk’s Office or online at 
www.courts.ca.gov.  

 
FAMILY LAW CASE RESOURCE INFORMATION 

 
Family Law cases include dissolution of marriage (divorce) or domestic partnership, legal 
separation, annulment of marriage (nullity), paternity, and domestic violence.  Detailed information 
about each type of family law case can be found on the court’s website 
www.humboldt.courts.ca.gov and the California Court’s Website: www.courts.ca.gov.  Among 
other information, these websites provide answers to frequently asked questions, terms and 
definitions used in family law cases, forms with step-by-step instructions, local rules, California 
Rules of Court, and information on where to find help.  Judicial Council Form FL-107-INFO  

       
(Legal Steps for a Divorce) is available on the California Court’s website, which provides an 
overview of the legal steps for a divorce, important notices, statewide resources, and services  
 
available at all California courts.  The following topics contain general information specific to the 
Humboldt County Superior Court. 
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SELF-REPRESENTED LITIGANTS) 
 

Individuals who represent themselves may get help through the Family Law Facilitator’s Office, 
which is located in room 305 on the third floor of the Humboldt County Courthouse located at 825 
Fifth Street in Eureka, California.  The facilitator provides both one-on-one services and group 
workshops.  The services are free and they are usually offered on a first-come, first served basis; 
although, some appointments are available.  The court’s website (www.humboldt.courts.ca.gov), 
under “Self Help” provides contact information and information about services offered by the 
Facilitator’s Office. 
 
Procedural Assistance:  If you do not have an attorney, you can get help with filling out forms and 
information about filing documents, serving papers and other types of procedural assistance from 
the Family Law Facilitator’s Office. 
 

LOCAL RESOURCES 
 

Legal Advice and Information:  If you would like to consult with an attorney but cannot afford 
one there may be free services available through Redwood Legal Services, 123 Third Street, 
Eureka, CA 95502 (707) 445-0866 or for Senior Legal Assistance call (707) 443-9747.  Legal 
information is available through the Humboldt County Law Library, which is located in the ground 
floor of the courthouse at 812 4th Street, Eureka, CA (707) 476-2356, including access to legal 
reference materials; however, law library staff cannot give legal advice. 

 
Settlement Opportunities: 
 

 Child Custody:  Before a court order can be made on a dispute over child custody and 
visitation, the parties must participate in a child custody recommending counseling session 
facilitated by a Child Custody Recommending Counselor, who will help both parents work 
together toward a mutually acceptable agreement that is in the best interest of the children.  
The parties may also stipulate to private mediation at their own expense.  The 
recommending counseling session allows both parents to work together toward a mutually 
acceptable agreement which is in the best interest of the child(ren).  For additional 
information, view the Mediation Orientation Presentation available on the court’s website 
www.humboldt.courts.ca.gov. 
 

 Private Resources:  Mediation and other types of settlement resolutions may be available 
from private providers at the parties’ own cost.  The Family Law Facilitator’s Office may  

     
 have brochures or other referral information; however, the court cannot recommend or 

endorse any private business. 

Domestic Violence Victim Services:  The Family Law Facilitator’s Office provides help preparing 
applications for restraining orders.  Comprehensive information about domestic violence is 
available on the court’s website at www.humboldt.courts.ca.gov, including forms.   
 
Victims of domestic violence may contact Humboldt Domestic Violence Services’ 24 hour crisis 
line at (707) 443-6042.  The National Domestic Violence Hotline (24 hours) can be reached at 1-
800-799-7233.  Victims of crime may contact the Humboldt County Victim/Witness program at 
707-445-7417. 
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The Humboldt Community Switchboard:  This is a free service that offers a comprehensive 
database of information on resources available in Humboldt County.  You can search the database 
on their website https://211humboldt.org/ or call their help line at (707) 441-1001. 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 

DISCLAIMER: 
This information sheet is intended to provide general information for litigants in family law cases.  
It may not include all information that is legally required, it is not legal advice, and it should not 
be used as a substitute for legal advice from an attorney licensed by the State Bar of California.  
If you should have any questions about your legal rights, you should talk to an attorney. 
 
With the exception of the Humboldt County Superior Court’s website, the Humboldt County 
Superior Court does not control or maintain the websites referred to in this information sheet and 
cannot be responsible for the accuracy of the information or content they contain.  In addition, the 
content of a website may change, and the court would not necessarily be made aware of the 
change.  When you access one of these websites, you are subject to the terms of use and privacy 
policies of that website. 


