General Information – Jury Summons
Trial Duration:Trials are of varying length. Many trials are completed in 2-3 days. The trial Judge will advise you of probable trial duration and may excuse you from serving on a particular case if your service would amount to extreme hardship.
Term of Service:Your service will not exceed one trial during a 12-month period. In most cases jury trials are conducted from 8:30 a.m. to 12 noon. Monday through Friday. Until April 5, 2009, one court does conduct jury trials from 8:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. each day. There are brief recesses during the day and you will have at least an hour for lunch if service in the court that goes all day.
Jury Fees:No daily or mileage fees are paid for the first day of service. After the first day fees will be paid at the rate of $15.00 per day and 34 cents per mile one way from your residence to the courthouse.
Proof of Service:Certification of your appearance for Jury Duty is required by some employers and will be furnished upon request.
Please Note:Persons with disabilities requiring special assistance or accommodation for jury service, please contact the Jury Services Office before your appearance (707) 269-1270. Pursuant to CCP 209, any juror who fails to respond to a jury summons as directed may be found in contempt of court, punishable by fine, incarceration or both.
Security of Juror Information and Court ContactsThe Superior Court of California, County of Humboldt, has learned that persons representing themselves as court officials may be contacting prospective jurors and asking for personal information. Please be advised that official Court personnel do not request personal information from jurors by telephone.
Should you receive a telephone call from someone identifying themselves as a court employee and requesting personal information such as a social security number, date of birth, credit card numbers, etc. please contact the fraud unit at your local law enforcement agency. Please also contact our Jury Services Unit for the Superior Court of California, County of Humboldt at (707) 269-1270.
Juror Parking InformationOn your jury summons there is a Juror Parking Permit that you would detach and place in plain view on your vehicle dashboard.
Your parking permit DOES NOT allow parking in private parking lots or other restricted or posted areas. Free parking is provided for jurors and prospective jurors while in court, provided that you are parked in a legally designated parking space. Metered or two-hour limit only.
Please do not park in a 12, 15, or 30 minute parking area, or handicap parking area unless you have a handicap placard. Jurors cannot park in the Humboldt County paved parking lot located on the Fifth and I Street side of the building. Jurors cannot park in the Times Standard parking lot, in the City Hall parking lot, or in the Employment Development Parking lot (Job Market) located off K Street.